An Invitation

I was on a long overdue date with Andy last night and while we were driving I was telling him about my thoughts and even some struggles with this blog.  I’m not an expert on anything.  I can’t teach you how to organize your life, let alone a shelf.  I can’t do any DIY projects, I’m not crafty with my kids and more often than not I feel like I drop the ball and fail at anything I try.  I don’t have anything to offer that I would look for in a blog and so I’ve really wrestled with doing one.  However, I do want to do a better job of reading my Bible- something I was good at before I became a wife and something that is even worse now that I’m a mom.  I wish I had an extra free night to attend the women’s Bible study at my church, but I just can’t give up one more night with my kids.  I started a Bible reading plan earlier in the year, and have done some of it but was terribly behind.  Granted, I was overly ambitious and picked a 90 day plan, which wasn’t realistic.  The other problem I’ve had while trying to read is that I typically have a hard time reading 8 or so chapters because there is generally so much information to digest that I don’t feel like I’m getting all that there is by reading it just to get through it.  So I switched to a year long, chronological, reading plan and I’m hoping that it will fit more my pace.

So I was expressing all of this to Andy and told him that I was thinking about doing this with my blog- mostly because the accountability has been good.  And I was still wrestling with this idea when I opened by Bible this afternoon to where I left off yesterday, Exodus 17 and 18.  There are two totally different stories in there- one about Joshua winning a battle because Moses had his hands raised, and the second about Moses receiving some advice from his father-in-law and put some elders in charge to help settle disputes so Moses wasn’t doing it all alone.  And I realized that there is a thread that connects the two.  We shouldn’t do things alone.

So I took these two passages as an encouragement to extend and invitation and here it is:  I’m not an expert.  I don’t have a lot to offer.  But I’m going to continue on my journey to read through the Bible in a year and I invite you to join me.  I’m picking up in Exodus where I’ve been reading, and so pick up with me if you wish.  But if you have any desire to do this, join me.  I don’t want to do it alone.  I’ll read and post my insights and thoughts along the way- you’re welcome to do the same.  Or just read along.  Or if the time is hard to find, even just take some of the things that I’ve learned and chew on that throughout the day.  I don’t have a lot of expectations, but I thought I’d invite you so I- and you- didn’t do it alone.

Today’s reading: Exodus 16-18
Tomorrow’s reading: Exodus 19-21(The plan is from the YouVersion Bible App, and is the chronological 1 year plan.  I’m jumping in around day 35)

2 thoughts on “An Invitation

  1. Keep it up Lauren! You have incredible insight and now that I have figured out how to get notices when you post new blogs I’ll be following along! Not quite as good as doing a bible study with you but I can’t wait for your next post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

