Exodus 36-38

Clearly I haven’t posted in several days, we were busy over the weekend and then my family got sick.  So when I finally got back on my phone to check my reading plan, I was like 5 days behind.  My first thought was to quit because it’s super discouraging to see how far behind you are.  And as a woman I am extremely prone to guilt anyways, not to mention the extra guilt because the thing I was failing at was reading the Bible.  It’s just easy to feel defeated, and we have a real Enemy who encourages us to feel that way. But if there’s one thing I know, it’s that the longer we go living in defeat, the harder it is to make the first step into victory. The desire to quit after missing 5 days is not nearly as strong as it would be if I missed 10. So I went into my reading plan, moved the dates so I wasn’t behind anymore and let’s keep going.

The main thing that stuck out to me in this passage was actually mentioned for the first time earlier.  But I think now is a good time to address it.  If you’ve read my little profile you’ll see that I wish I was a super talented DIYer. But I’m not. I think it’s so fun to watch how people’s skill and creativity can take something and make it beautiful and new.  In fact, I was telling Andy the other day that right now if I could meet one famous person it would be Joanna Gaines from HGTV’s Fixer Upper (You can watch a video of her testimony here: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=t7iPEDnqwm0). I love watching her and her husband renew and restore old things and give them beauty and life.  Plus they’re hysterical to watch interact with each other. But isn’t it so interesting that we are drawn to watch gifted people create things? Pinterest, HGTV and the Food Network are all built on this idea.  But the history side of me can’t help but think of the Renaissance. Think of all the art museums, all the old buildings you can tour, all the text books that teach people about these artists.  And from a very practical side all they did was make something beautiful.  The Florence Cathedral could have been just fine as a box, but Brunelleschi’s dome adds a dimension of beauty and architectural genius that is studied and admired (haven’t seen it with my own eyes- yet!).  

Now this all is related to Exodus, I promise. It’s related simply because God gave specific instructions to make His dwelling place beautiful and ornate. But He didn’t make it Himself. The end of chapter 35 and the beginning of 36 talk about these two guys Bezalel and Oholiab. It says that the Spirit had filled them with: wisdom, understanding, knowledge, the skill of artistic crafts and the ability to teach.  Throughout these passages we also see God using many other people with different artistic talents. Now I hadn’t really thought about craftiness being a spiritual gift, but this passage makes it seem like it is to me.  And when you boil it down, the spiritual gifts are an extra, divinely given, ability to function in a part of Gods character.  Think about it, all of the spiritual gifts we see are ultimately perfected in God Himself.  So craftiness or artistic ability as a spiritual gift is a reflection of God as creator.  He can create from nothing- like in Genesis- or He can recreate and make something new out of the old- like He does with us.  And ultimately that’s what these two guys in Exodus are doing.  They’re taking the materials and making them into something new.  Doesn’t our love for HGTV, Food Network and Pinterest make more sense in this light? We are naturally designed to be drawn to God, and watching people create and recreate is a desire to see and experience God as creator.

I find it so amazing that God hides such spiritual lessons in such everyday things. And I feel a little better about my love of HGTV!

Tomorrow’s Reading: Exodus 39′ 40

Leave a Reply

