Challenge Day 1

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.  And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.  If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.  But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.  For that person must not suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.
~ James 1:2-8

I’ve been focused on unanswered prayers and questions.  But this verse today was a great reminder that these are opportunities to practice real faith.  I like to have faith in little things, and even occasionally can muster faith for big decisions, but I struggle with the not doubting part.  I know that God is there and I know that He can do something, but I doubt that He wants to.  And so I approach Him a lot with doubt that I will actually receive anything when I go to Him.  And this is what I’ve been focusing on.  However, with this challenge I’m going to turn this perspective upside down.

I need lots of things!  I need answers on what decisions to make and wisdom on how to move forward.  I need encouragement and patience.  I’m thankful that the Lord cares about me enough to create/allow needs in my life so I have to turn to Him.  And when I don’t receive the wisdom I need, He allows me to continue to ask so I can practice asking in faith with no doubting.  He doesn’t want me to give up, but He wants me to increase my faith and decrease my doubt.  Through a season with lots of requests and needs, He is with me and teaching me that He wants to give me the wisdom I need, but more than that, He wants me to believe Him and not doubt.  I can count on Him!

 

One thought on “Challenge Day 1

  1. I love that God answers our prayers in unexpected ways. It demonstrates God’s goodness and wisdom – beyond my understanding.

    Like

Leave a Reply

