Part 4

There have been times in my faith walk where the Lord points something out to me, and instantly I just know that it is more than a passing lesson.  It resonates with such depth and strength that I can almost feel it digging into my soul and putting down roots.  These are the faith lessons that become more like faith themes or anthems in my life.  As I chew and meditate on these lessons for years, they become an integral part of how I approach my faith and walk with the Lord. I instantly knew that the next piece that stood out to me in our passage was one of these lessons. And I know that what He showed me was just a corner of where to start digging to uncover those ancient ruins.

John 11:41-44

So they took away the stone. Then Jesus looked up and said, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me. I knew that you always hear me, but I said this for the benefit of the people standing here, that they may believe that you sent me.”

When he had said this, Jesus called in a loud voice, “Lazarus, come out!” The dead man came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face.

Jesus said to them, “Take off the grave clothes and let him go.”

I will be the first to admit that when I read passages with such amazing miracles, I tend to almost unfocus and glaze over the magnitude of the miracles because I don’t even have a grid for it.  The raising of Lazarus is no exception.  I can’t even begin to comprehend what happened here.  But while I was reading this passage, the Lord didn’t choose to help my mortal mind comprehend this, but instead He showed me how even more incredible this was than I originally thought.

Did you notice the method Jesus used to raise Lazarus?  He didn’t walk up to him, shake him, or lay His hands on him.  He spoke… Spoke. That’s it!  Talk about incredible.  Jesus not only raises some one from the dead (after 4 days!), but He does it only with His words.

I tend to think in my own life, that I need God to come into my circumstances and move things around so everything works.  And when God blew my mind by showing me that all Jesus needed to do was speak, it convicted me because it revealed that I had diminished who He is and what He is capable of.  Just like Jesus didn’t need to DO anything to raise Lazarus, He also wouldn’t have to do anything to move miracles in my own circumstances.  All I need is for Him to speak.

In addition to the mental exercise of trying to grasp this new realization, the Lord is so good and never lets His lessons stop there.  There is never a lesson just for the knowledge and interest, but they all have some personal application.  So the next big question is, “what does this mean for me?”  Honestly, I know I’m just on the starting line of the journey into the power of God speaking, and so I won’t pretend like I have it all figured out.  However, my first thought instantly went from the words of Jesus having such power to the Word of God, the Bible.

You’ve already heard me talk about how I love experiencing the Word being living and active, but this takes that to a whole new level.  I’ve always believed that the Word was powerful, but I never linked it to the same amount of power that raised Lazarus from the dead.  And moving forward, I can only imagine the impact it will have on my reading of the Bible. Like I’ve said, this is just the beginning of a long journey of learning and discovery, but I wanted to share with you just the first taste of how powerful it is when God speaks.  I hope it has encouraged and challenged you also.

One thought on “Part 4

  1. Good stuff Lauren! We can worry a problem, speak hundreds or thousands of words and be in the same place. Jesus can speak 3 words and raise us from the dead.

    Like

Leave a Reply

